NBC Media Village > Sports


Each year NBC kicks off its golf coverage with the PGA Tour’s “Southern Swing,” which begins with the Doral Open the first weekend in March. From there, back-to-back stops at the Honda Classic and the Bay Hill Invitational Presented by Cooper Tires lead into one of the richest and most demanding tournaments of the year, The Players Championship is held at the famous TPC at Sawgrass in Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla., and has earned unofficial designation as golf’s “fifth major.” The field of competitors validates that claim, as virtually all of the world’s top 50 players participate. NBC’s PGA Tour coverage concludes on the first weekend of April with the BellSouth Classic in Duluth, Ga.

2001 Champions:

Doral Open: Joe Durant

Honda Classic: Jesper Parnavik

Bay Hill: Tiger Woods

TPC: Tiger Woods

BellSouth Classic: Scott McCarron


Leave a Comment